Diving in

I wear many hats these days.  I’m diving in full force on new projects, ideas and activities. Please don’t think I am practicing “avoidance.”  None of this is an attempt to forget what has happened or forget that I miss my sweet angel.  Most of what I do is because of her, for her, and makes me think of her often!

New hat number one: Actress.  After Kaiya passed away I auditioned for a play, and got a great part.  It was fabulously fun and I will most likely be doing another one some day.  I used to wear the Actress hat a lot when I was a kid, but hadn’t put it on in over 10 years!  I sure did miss it.

New hat number two: Nursery Attendant.  I guess that is what I would call it.  I volunteer to sit in the nursery for any babies/kids that might need a place to hang out while their parents enjoy service at church.  Some weeks I have been alone with no kids to entertain.  Some weeks I have had some older (and sometimes ROWDY!) kids needing a place to hang out on Sunday afternoon while parents are in meetings for church activities like VBS planning, Church Ed., etc.   I’m hoping to get some little ones.  The nursery was closed for a while so parents got used to just keeping the little ones in service, and for the most part this just happens to be widely accepted in our church, so no one really minds a crying baby or two.

New hat number three:  Volunteer.  This is a large umbrella of a hat.  Under this hat I fit in my local volunteering for the recent program called Cinderella’s Closet.  This is an amazing program for high school girls to get a free prom dress when they can’t otherwise afford one.  Many girls would simply not attend their Prom if this program did not exist.  It has been an amazing experience.  I have also become increasingly involved with First Candle, the organization devoted to finding a cause and cure for SIDS, helping families affected by SIDS (and Still birth and other sudden infant losses).  I wrote an article for the newsletter, I will taking part in starting some new programs through the peer contact program and some other little projects that I will be helping with through this organization.  I wish I didn’t know First Candle existed, but I am so very glad it does.  If I have to wear the SIDS Mom Hat, at least I can wear it with dignity and stand up for my baby girl and all her angel friends and DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT!

Well there you have it.  The life of this SIDS mom sure is busy, but it doesn’t make me miss her any less!  Everything I do is for you sweet angel.

There is tremendous happiness in making others happy, despite our own situations.

Love Always,

Kaiya Rae’s Momma

Leave a Reply

