Mother’s Day, Part 3: I am a mother, too.

I am a Mother, Too♥

You are a mother

With children in tow

It is obvious to all

and everybody knows

You hold your babies,

and kiss them goodnight

Never too long

Are they out of your sight

I am a mother, too

though it is not plain to see

For I can no longer

Hold tight to my baby

I am a mother, too

For I have given birth

And though my baby is gone

I must still walk this Earth

I have carried deep within me

A growing child, blessed

Bore her from my body

Had her placed upon my chest

I too have held, and have rocked her

And kissed her cheeks good night

Never knowing, one day

For her life we would fight

I would lay down my own life

To save her, if I could

For death stole my child

But, not my motherhood

I am a mother, too

Though it doesn’t always show

I am a mother, too

Though I can no longer watch her grow

So as you walk beside

Your living miracles today

Remember moms like me

Who must miss theirs every day

KaiyaRae’s Momma

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rebecca
    May 08, 2011 @ 11:02:43

    hugs mama this brought tears to my eyes… Happy Mothers Day

    Reply

  2. Emily
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 15:54:29

    This is so honest and beautiful. My heart breaks for you. I hope that your heart is healing the best it can.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

