My Sister

“My sister looks at me with kindness.  She holds me and we cry together.  With her I can let go and sob.  Then when our tears are spent, she says something that makes us both laugh.  I find comfort in her arms, if only for a little while.” ~ From “An Empty Cradle, A Full Heart”.

I have a love for my big sister that cannot be explained.  We haven’t always been the best of friends.  Undoubtedly our childhood fights could rival the best of sibling quarrels.  She is a mere 7 years older than me.  She didn’t ask for a baby sister.  She asked for a puppy.  She got me.  She once convinced me to get into the toilet, in an attempt to flush me away.  I don’t remember it, but I hear this story and remind her of it often.  While I spent my childhood trying to be her, she spent hers begging my mother to get me away from her.  I was just a baby.  An annoying, little, copycat sister.  But I was, and always will be, her baby sister.  No matter how much we fought, how much I annoyed her, or how many of her things I ruined; My sister has always been there for me, and I for her. She has spent countless hours through out our lives teasing me to no end.  Yet, I have looked up to her, admired her, and would drop everything to run to her if she needed me.  We have been there for each other through broken dates, failed auditions and heart breaks.  We have held each others hands through funerals as we buried 3 grandparents.  We have cried, and we have laughed.  But nothing could have prepared either of us for this.  When Kaiya was in the hospital, my husband left the room to make a few phone calls.  He called my parents and his.  He called our pastor.  I’m not sure how many other calls he made, or who he talked to.  I sat by my babies side and prayed.  I thought of no one but my little girl.  He came to me a bit later and said “Both our parents are on the road.  Your sister is on the way to the airport and her plane will be here in a few hours.”  Through thick and thin.  She dropped everything and ran to the airport, to be with me.

She arrived with a bag that had been packed by her boyfriend as she rushed to finish at work.  We joke to this day about her “1000” pairs of clean under wear, and only 2 shirts and a pair of pants to wear over them.  She stood by my side, unwavering in strength, for over 2 weeks.  I needed her, and she was there.  She held me in her arms when I cried.  She fed me when I didn’t know I was hungry.  She made me laugh when I was ready to.

I am thankful for my entire family.  I am thankful my brother was able to attend his niece’s funeral and carry her casket.  I am thankful for the 2 most, wonderful and generous parents any child could ask for.  I am thankful for a wonderful, caring, loving husband who I am so very proud to call mine.  I am thankful for his family for being there for us both, and welcoming me as one of their own.  I can’t imagine my life with out any of them in it.  I love them all more than they could ever know.  But I honestly do not know what would have done, with out my sister by my side.

Thank you, Mindy, for being you.  And thanks for learning to love your bratty, little, baby sister.  I can’t imagine a life with out my Mimi.

A friend loves at all times, and kinfolk are born to share adversity. – Proverbs 17:17

Love Always,

KaiyaRae’s Momma

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. debie
    May 15, 2011 @ 15:08:47

    beautiful! shared this with my daughters and we all cryed.

    Reply

  2. Karla Fetter
    May 15, 2011 @ 17:50:07

    True sisters! Feel the same about my own sister and we are 8 years apart, me being the baby. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  3. amourningmom
    May 20, 2011 @ 00:40:28

    I am so glad that your sister was and is there for you. It sounds like you are both lucky to have each other. Take care.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

